A breakfast to remember at The Georgian Restaurant in south Clapham…

Around two years or so ago I stumbled across this quaint little Georgian cafe/restaurant near Clapham South, they serve traditional English brekkies as well as more authentic Georgian dishes.  I tried ‘Glekhuri’, an egg casserole with minced beef, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, garlic, onion, Georgian herbs and topped with cheese, it comes with toast. Seriously, oh my golly gosh you HAVE to try this for breakfast!

IMG_20130605_102129

It remains a firm favourite of mine to this day, I don’t know any other restaurant in London where you can try it as google barely even recognises the word glekhuri….  The only thing I got from my research was that it used to be a type of peasant food in Georgia back in the day, in which case maybe being a Georgian peasant wasn’t so bad?! Actually no, it probably was but I’m sure this would’ve put a smile on people’s faces in the mornings!

IMG_20130605_110605   IMG_20130605_110730

I’m yet to try anything else on the menu as I can’t physically stop myself from ordering Glekhuri every time. As you will see above there is no end of choice at breakfast and lunchtime and there is also a vast selection of salads, sandwiches, cakes and pastries. Oh yeah and the specials board is always crammed full of interesting options too, ok so the list goes on….

IMG_20130605_102202

By the way from 6.00pm they have a restaurant menu of entirely Georgian food, bit more pricy than this menu but there’s some amazing sounding stuff on there and they’re open until 11.00pm most days of the week.

The_Georgian3

Next time I promise I will force myself to try something else and report back, in the meantime pay them a visit for yourselves and let me know how you get on 🙂

The Georgian
27 Balham Hill, London, SW12 9DX

http://www.georgianrestaurant.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

